International Art Fair,
18. - 21. October 2018, Paris

Jesuys Crystiano

October 5th - November 10th, 2018

Opening Friday, October 5th, 6 - 9 pm

  • Jesuys Crystiano, Graffiti, undated

In 2010 Jesuys Crystiano's monumental wall drawings, rendered on walls and in abandoned tear-down buildings in Ilhéus, Brazil, are discovered. They reveal a surreal imagery in an unmistakable, idiosyncratic style, drawn with a fleeting but distinct stroke.

The wall drawings are discovered by Thilo Scheuermann, a German hotel owner living in Brazil, who establishes contact with the artist. At the time, Crystiano is still living on the streets of Ilhéus and is cared for by neighbours. Exactly how he came to be here is unclear, since he can only remember his past in fragments. His biographical data remains uncertain. The year of his birth is chosen arbitrarily and determined by court order as 1950. We can assume that Chrystiano grew up in the municipality of Buerarema in the state of Bahia, Brazil, where he attended school. Presumably, he spent his youth in Rio de Janeiro.

From 2010, Thilo Scheuermann takes the artist into his custody. Henceforth, he promotes Crystiano's artistic work by providing him with drawing material and by photographically documenting the creation of the works. Crystiano lives here until his death in 2015.

During this time an extensive oeuvre encompassing drawings, collages and objects emerge. His signature imagery shows a complex, ornamental network composed of architectural, floral and figurative elements. Peculiar faces with prominent noses and cigarette stubs in their mouths, airplanes, buildings, animals, especially birds, umbrellas, upside-down chairs and tables, and uprooted trees are recurring subjects of his unmistakable drawings.

For the first time in Cologne, Delmes & Zander is showing the work of Jesuys Crystiano in a solo exhibition that will also include his large-format drawings.

International Art Fair,
18. - 21. Oktober 2018, Paris

Jesuys Crystiano

5. Oktober - 10. November 2018

Vernissage Freitag, 5. Oktober 2018,
18:00 - 21:00 Uhr

  • Jesuys Crystiano, Graffiti, undatiert

2010 werden Jesuys Crystianos monumentale Wandzeichnungen auf Mauern und in Abrisshäusern in Ilheus / Brasilien entdeckt. Sie zeigen surreale Bilderwelten in unverkennbarem Stil, eigenwillig und mit schnellem, sicheren Strich gezeichnet. Der Entdecker der Wandzeichnungen, Thilo Scheuermann, ein dort ansässiger deutscher Hotelier nimmt Kontakt zu dem Künstler auf. Crystinao lebt derzeit noch auf den Straßen von Ilheus und wird von Nachbarn versorgt. Wie Crystiano dorthin gelangte ist unklar. Denn er erinnert sich nur fragmentarisch an seine Vergangenheit. Seine biografischen Daten sind ungewiss. Sein Geburtsjahr wird willkürlich gewählt und durch richterlichen Beschluss auf das Jahr 1950 festgelegt. Vermutlich wuchs Crystiano in Buerarema im Staat Bahia in Brasilien auf und besuchte dort die Schule. Seine Jugend verbrachte er wohl in Rio de Janeiro.

Nach 2010 nimmt Thilo Scheuermann den Künstler bei sich auf und fördert seine künstlerische Arbeit fortan indem er ihm Zeichenmaterial zur Verfügung stellt und die Entstehung der Werke fotografisch dokumentiert. Crystiano lebt dort bis zu seinem Tod im Jahr 2015.

In dieser Zeit entsteht ein umfangreiches Oeuvre mit Zeichnungen, Kollagen, Objekten. Seine Bilderwelten zeigen ein dichtes, ornamentales Geflecht aus architektonischen, floralen und figürlichen Elementen. Merkwürdige Gesichter mit markanten Nasen und Zigarettenstummeln im Mund, Flugzeuge, Gebäude, Tiere insbesondere Vögel, Regenschirme, auf den Kopf gestellte Stühle und Tische sowie entwurzelte Bäume sind wiederkehrende Sujets seiner unverkennbaren Zeichnungen.

Delmes & Zander zeigt erstmalig die Arbeiten in einer Einzelausstellung in Köln mit teils großformatigen Zeichnungen.